A friend sent me this email today:

The Washington Post’s Style Invitational once again asked readers to take
any word from the dictionary, alter it by adding, subtracting, or changing
one letter, and supply a new definition. Here are this year’s winners:

1. Bozone (n.): The substance surrounding stupid people that stops bright
ideas from penetrating. The bozone layer, unfortunately, shows little sign
of breaking down in the near future.

I’m surrounded by people at work whose bozone layers are thickening an inch per second.  I just feel so frustrated, so irritated, so annoyed that people in my workplace don’t use their brains.  I don’t want to go into the nitty-gritty details, but let me just say that if I don’t get out of this place soon my brain cells will atrophy and die.  I feel like I’m wasting my talent and my time, but for now, I have nowhere to go (or maybe I am just terrified of trying something new.)  I am so scared of becoming just like them, happy and contented with what they have, and thinking that they have the best job in the whole wide world and that this place is absolute heaven.  

I know I should do something.  I can’t just do nothing.  I could try to stir things up and try to change things, but leaving is probably the best option because I can’t change the way people here think.   A culture of mediocrity pervades this place and I feel like I’m drowning in it.   I love what I do but I can’t stand this place anymore.  It’s draining my spirit and making me lose focus.  Aaarrrrggggghhhh!!!! I need a better job! 😦

