I just got back from a 3-day seminar (semi-vacay according to Dino).  I wanted to blog while I was in Iloilo but I just couldn’t find the time.  The seminar was an 8-to-5 affair and my hubby had made plans how we were going to spend the rest of the day after my seminar.  On the first day, we went to visit the wake of his college friend’s dad in a town about an hour away from Iloilo.  This town is kinda famous for witching (have you heard of Dueñas?) and we were traveling at night and the roads were so dark so it was kind of spooky.  Good thing we were with another friend who talked non-stop along the way.  The next day, we had dinner with my cousin and her hubby, and we went out afterwards so I couldn’t blog again. 😦  Friday night was spent at my in-laws’ place since it was my father-in-law’s birthday.  The next day I went home to Bacolod na. 

While I was in the seminar I wanted to blog about a lot of things.  I actually wrote some entries (literally wrote in long hand), but I didn’t get to finish them so I’ll just write about what I can remember during the seminar.

When I got to the venue Wednesday morning, I thought I was already late, but since Filipino time is still the norm, we started thirty minutes late.  I wonder why people always choose the last rows whenever they go to an assembly or a meeting or a seminar or any event where seats are arranged in rows.  When I arrived, the last three rows at the back were already filled while the front rows were empty.  I guess people still have that mentality that they don’t want to be called on, especially during a seminar where they hardly know anybody.  Anyway, I sat on the third row from the front. 🙂

As I was going over the seminar materials, two ladies came and sat beside me.  I told them that only one seat was availabe because there were already two other guys seated on our table.  But they didn’t want to sit apart and so they pulled another chair and squashed themselves into our already full table. Grrr!  Some people talaga….

When the opening program finally started, I was even more irritated with the one who gave the opening remarks.  She was so unprepared and couldn’t think of anything to say that she greeted us Happy New Year!  Aaaarrggghhh!  Happy New Year?!?  It’s already February!  This Wednesday is already Ash Wednesday!  Holy Week will be here soon and you’re greeting us Happy New Year?!?  I thought I was surely going to be in another worthless seminar.  Good thing the speakers were nothing like the opening remarker.  Although the concepts discussed were nothing new to me, I still learned a lot.  I guess anything can be an opportunity for learning if we just keep a open mind.

All in all, the trip to Iloilo was fun, interesting, and a good break for me.  Of course, there were a lot of touching-touching (see Jher’s comment)! 😉  Now, I’m back to the daily grind of the office. 😦  At least, I can now blog anytime.

