As far as I can remember, I have always been a bookworm.  I used to get an award for “most books borrowed” when I was in grade school.  I guess my love for books started when my dad read Robert Ludlum’s novels to me while I was still in a crib.  I love reading because it takes me to a different place and time where I can forget about my own worries.  It’s my escape from my own reality.  After reading about the misfortunes of other people (although fictional), I get to realize that my own problems aren’t as huge as I originally thought they were.

I used to buy two or three books a month (brand new), back when books were cheaper and I had no milk or diapers to buy.  Recently, though, I would scour second hand book shops for good finds – bestsellers sold for less than half of their original price.  And so, during my last trip to Iloilo, I found a used copy of The Horse Whisperer by Nicholas Evans.  This was published in 1995, but the paperback copy I got looked brand new.  This book was actually made into a movie in 1998, with Robert Redford in the lead role.  I haven’t seen the movie, but according to the reviews it has a different ending.

Anyway, the book is written beautifully.  It is such a moving story of human emotion and I was totally engrossed in the novel.  I’m not done with it yet, but I can say that this book is really a great read!  Here is a passage which really spoke to me. 

And she thought, but didn’t say, what a perilous commodity love was and that the proper calibration of its giving and taking was too precise by far for mere humans.

This is so true.  Sometimes we just don’t know how to give (and receive) love.  Some people give too much and take so little.  Other give too little and take so much that they suck the very life out of those who love them.  I know I am guilty of doing this sometimes, especially with Enzo.  Here is someone who loves me unconditionally, without question or thought.  Even when I get mad at him, it is to me that he still turns for comfort.  Haaay! Kabudlay maging nanay!  I feel so guilty that I’m not being a good  mom to him.

And here’s another passage from the book:

I guess that’s all forever is…Just one long trail of nows.  And I guess all you can do is try and live one now at a time without getting too worked up about the last now or the next now.

Wow! What a philosophy for living.  This is SO NOT my philosophy.  I worry TOO much.  Will I ever learn to live one NOW at a time?

Okay, enough philosophizing.  I have to get home to my book my kids.

