When I was still single and very active in the Catholic renewal movement, I read the Bible and reflected on God's word every day.  I would write my reflections in a notebook.  Some of them would be in the form of love letters to God, while others were written as realizations.  In whatever way I wrote, these reflections drew me to a very close relationship with God and strengthened me in my daily life. 

Nowadays, however, I find it difficult to read, much less write my reflections, about God's word.  With 2 kids to take care of and many other responsibilities at home, I just can't find the time to do my reflections.  I know, I know… I'm just making excuses because I can even find time to read a pocketbook or watch CSI marathon episodes, but I can't find time to pray.

Since I can't seem to do my prayer time at home, the first 30 minutes of my day at the office is usually spent reading the Bible.  Sometimes I write my reflections, sometimes I don't.  Today is one of those times that I feel like writing down my thoughts.

The first reading for today is taken from Isaiah 49:8-15, and one verse struck me: 

Sing out, O heavens and rejoice, O earth; Break forth into song, you mountains.  For the Lord comforts His people and shows mercy to His afflicted.                                                 Isaiah 49:13

We all know that we are God's people.  That is easy to believe in when everything is sunny and bright in our daily lives.  But when we are afflicted by sickness or problems, we tend to believe that God has abandoned us.  This is usually the case for me.  When trials come, I feel that God has turned away from me, which is why I experience testing.  But this verse from Isaiah struck me because God tells me that I am HIS, even when I am afflicted. 

It struck me that the verse went this way, "For the Lord … shows mercy to HIS afflicted," when it could have been written this way, "For the Lord … shows mercy to THE afflicted."

This goes to show that even in our afflictions, we are still God's chosen ones, and He will never abandon us because He has carved our names on the palm of His hands. 

My prayer for today:

Lord, I thank you for reminding me that I am your child, regardless of the circumstance I am in.  When I start to feel all alone again, please wrap your arms around me and let me experience your love.  Amen.

