Have you ever eagerly volunteered to help a friend only to find yourself trapped in a situation that is giving you a headache (literally and figuratively) – and wishing you never said yes in the first place? 

That's exactly how I feel right now. 

I'm helping out a friend who is doing his dissertation.  I kinda promised him that I would do the stats for his paper and now I'm up to my neck with work.  I can't do the analysis unless I clean up his data first using Excel.  I've been cleaning his data since yesterday and until now I'm still at it.  Imagine having to copy, paste, transpose, and sort 1,600++ cases of 10-15 variables!  I have to make his data readable to the statistical software I will be using for the analysis.  I'm getting tired, my eyes are ready to pop from staring at the monitor, and I'm so frustrated already.  But I can't get out of this anymore.  His defense is on Friday and we have to finish the statistical analysis by 6pm today so that he can give a copy to his panel members.

Don't get me wrong.  It's not that I don't want to help him because I really do.  It's just that the task is taking me forever to finish and I also have a million other things to do which I've put on hold to accommodate his paper. 

Oh well, I guess the only thing I can do now is to go on with this.  I know he can't do this on his own – and I did promise to help him.  I learned my lesson, though.  Next time, I should make sure that when I help out, I wouldn't be doing all the work – I'll just be helping out. 

Okay, so I better get back to my work.  I just hope I can finish this on time. 

