This April my kids have reached certain milestones in their lives.  Evie turned 6 months and she has started eating solid foods.  While some parents start theirs kids on solid foods at only 4 months, I decided to wait until my baby reached 6 months because I have read (here) that a baby at four months is starting to get ready for solid food but he or she won't be really ready to start eating solids until the age of 6 months.  I started by giving her cereal and I later on added some veggies (potatoes, carrots, and squash – one at a time, of course).  I was really happy because she was so easy to feed and very eager to eat. 

Enzo, on the other hand, started summer school last Monday.   He will be turning 3 in July and we decided to enroll him this summer for socialization with kids his age.  I enrolled him at a pre-school very near my workplace, less than 5 minutes away.  He seems to be enjoying it.  I was even surprised this morning that I did not have to wake him up at 7AM because he woke up by himself.  Although there is still the usual whining when he is given his bath, once he's all dressed up, he would tell me, "Mommy, let's go na!"  Sometimes I hear him singing the alphabet song and other songs he learned in school.  And he has brought home some work they do in school with very good marks. It's not much really, 'cause they're just starting to color, but I'm really proud of him because he's starting to learn how to develop his fine motor skills.  Pretty soon, I know he'll be writing. 

My kids are growing!  It's such an exciting time for them, and for me, too.  Sometimes I wish they would stay young, but at the same time I can't wait for them to grow up and become their own persons.  For now, I'm just enjoying my children and I consider myself truly blessed to have been given this wonderful gift of parenthood.

