Dean and I decided that this summer I wasn’t going to teach and we would be spending the summer vacation in Iloilo with him.  I’ve been working so hard over the last two semesters that I hardly spent time with the kids.  When I got home from work, I had more take-home work to do.  I was really burned out over the past five months, and I knew I just had to take a break.

Although I won’t be earning any income (from teaching, that is) this summer, at least I get to spend some time with the kids.  Right now, we are in Dean’s parents’ house and the kids are having fun playing around the house.  It’s a new environment for them, and being away from home is always an adventure.  Yesterday, we went to Sports Complex to jog around the track.  The kids had a great time running and playing on the football field. 

I’ve also been trying to look for tv-free activities online.  I know I’ve used the tv as a babysitter back home in Bacolod, and I don’t want to do that here.  We bought an origami book for Enzo and other activity books.  I’m also planning to bring them to the museum here and maybe take a day trip to visit old churches here in Iloilo. 

I guess I’m beginning to get the hang of being a stay-at-home mom.  I also brought some researches to do, so I would still be able to earn something while being on vacation.  I just hope that after this much-needed break I’ll be able to go back to work refreshed and ready to take on any challenge.

