I’ve been listening to Robert Kiyosaki’s Rich Dad, Poor Dad (audio version) over the past few days. One of the things which struck me was his question, “What’s your business?” When he asked someone this, the guy said he was a banker. So he asked the guy if he owned the bank, and the guy said no, he was just an employee at the bank. The guy confused his profession with his business. Kiyosaki said that if one wants to be financially secure, he should start with minding his own business. But one has to be clear about his business in the first place. So now I’m asking myself, “What’s my business?”

I’m a teacher by profession, but a statistician by training. Aside from teaching, I accept statistical consultation and data analysis projects. So I guess I could say my business is statistical consulting.

My clients are mostly graduate students or doctors in their residency program who need my help with their statistical analysis. But I’m hoping to extend that network to people outside of Bacolod, maybe even outside the country. I’ve been trying to build a website on google pages, but I haven’t thought of a catchy title/name yet.

Anyway, to anyone reading this, maybe you know of someone who is working on a thesis/dissertation or on a research project and needs help with their statistics, I would appreciate a referral. 🙂

*This article is crossposted on my friendster blog.

