According to babycenter.com, the American Pediatric Association recommends that children under 2 years of age should not be watching ANY television, while children two years and older should watch no more than two hours of TV per day.

I hate to admit it, but my kids watch way too much TV, especially when I’m at work. I really feel guilty about this. When Enzo was still a baby, I told myself that I wouldn’t use the TV as a babysitter. Unfortunately, it’s easier said than done. I resort to TV whenever I have tasks to do that I need to concentrate on and I can’t have the kids interrupting me every minute or so. There are also a lot of times when I watch my favorite parental guidance shows (e.g. CSI, House, Heores) even with the kids around. I know, I know… I should be more responsible as a parent. And of course, hubby is not helping. After all, he’s the TV addict, not me!

I know my kids have been watching too much Disney channel because:

  • They say “Aww, men!” when something goes wrong.
  • They call the mice in your house “Mickey.”
  • Whenever they see three interlocking circles, they shout out, “Hidden Mickey!”
  • Their favorite song is “You are the Music in Me!”
  • They think the world of Mr. Bean.
  • Their magic word is not “please,” but “Miska, Muska, Mickey Mouse!”

It scares me that I’ve been too lax with them when it comes to watching TV. I’m thinking of removing the TV from the bedroom or even unsubscribing to cable altogether. But can we (hubby and I) deal with that???

